Tippecanoe School Corporation
TSC announces Teachers of the Year
Sue Scott

The Tippecanoe School Corporation has named Anne Peters as the TSC Elementary Teacher of the Year and Rahul Menon as the TSC Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Peters is a Title 1 teacher at Woodland Elementary School. She has been teaching for 19 years and has a bachelor's degree from Purdue University. 

Principal Lee Sweet says Peters is dependable, consistent and thorough with her teaching and focuses all of her lessons on the needs of her students in order for them to make the most growth possible. “She is willing to work with any student regardless of their specific needs or challenges,” says Sweet. ”She also goes above and beyond for our staff and checks in with teachers to see how she can support them and help with interventions.”

Menon has been a math teacher for 23 years at McCutcheon High School. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University and a master’s degree from Indiana Wesleyan University. 

Principal Gloria Grigsby says Menon is a respected and connected teacher. He offers students numerous opportunities to succeed in his classes and offers tutoring before or after school as well as evening online Google meets. “When I think of Mr. Menon, I think of a teacher who welcomes all into his classroom and helps them become confident problem solvers,” says Grigsby. Menon is also chair of the math department, member of the School Improvement Team, sponsor of the Board Game Club and serves as an assistant tennis coach.

A committee selected the two winners from a field of 19 building-level winners (listed below). Peters and Menon will represent TSC in the Indiana 2024 Teacher of the Year program.


2022-23 Teachers of the Year

Elementary Schools

Battle Ground, Amy Ahnert, Second Grade

Burnett Creek, Bridgett Sharp, Special Education

Cole, Kelly Curtis, First Grade

Dayton, Mindy Stader, First Grade

Hershey, Kaley Thompson, Special Education

Klondike, Olivia Winstead, Kindergarten

Mayflower Mill, Ashley Royer, Fourth Grade

Mintonye, Sheryl Davis, Second Grade

Wea Ridge, Kristen Burger, Second Grade

Woodland, Anne Peters, Title I

Wyandotte, Vicki Pounds, Second Grade


Middle Schools

Battle Ground, Gabriele Appenzeller, Art

East Tipp, Destiny Peters, English

Klondike, Darcy Slade, Special Education

Southwestern, Jennifer Pike, Science

Wainwright, Megan Gordon, Special Education

Wea Ridge, Aubrey Clayton, Art


High Schools

Harrison, Scott Powell, Science

McCutcheon, Rahul Menon, Mathematics

Anne Peters with her principal, previous teachers of the year and administrators
Rahul Menon poses for a picture with Principal Grigsby, Superintendent Hanback, previous teachers of the year and other admin